Playing the Waiting Game

Published November 4, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

My baby was due to be born on October 31st. Yes, Halloween. I’ve endured all sorts of jokes about her due date since I found out I was pregnant. I’ll bet you couldn’t surprise me or come up with one I haven’t heard. At any rate, that’s when she was supposedly due to make her appearance.

It’s now 1:53 AM on November 4th, and she still isn’t here. My husband David and I are playing the waiting game. Yesterday (the third) was exciting…I had contractions all day long, starting at 3:15 in the morning. Sadly, they were erratic…they would grow stronger and closer together, and then suddenly disappear entirely for a half hour or so. They finally petered out entirely around 11PM. I am feeling so impatient that I could just…scream.

I have a doctor appointment on Monday, and supposedly if she isn’t born by then, an induction will occur, or at least be scheduled. I really don’t want to have an induction. Everyone says that when you have an induction the contractions are more painful and harder to deal with. Since I’m hoping to avoid having an epidural, this isn’t something I will gladly face. Here’s hoping that she makes her appearance today.

My name is Jessica, I’m 24 years old, and I am starting this blog because I miss writing, and everyone says I have “talent.” I have no idea whether or not that is true, but I love to tell stories, and as I am about to have a baby, I figure my overriding want will be to tell stories about my child, and parenting my child, and all the mistakes and frustrations and joys of raising a child that I will experience. My hope is that people will get some small amusement out of it, or learn from my mistakes so that they can avoid making their own.

Of course, I could fail completely and everyone will find my blog completely boring and repetitive, and that’s fine, too. I find that writing keeps me sane. Everyone keeps telling me that I’ll be exhausted and overwhelmed and feel like I am about to topple over the edge into insanity once our baby arrives, so why not curb that feeling a bit by doing what I love to do anyway?

Here’s hoping I actually have some readers!

Cheers,

The Mommy To Be

One comment on “Playing the Waiting Game

  • Leave a Reply

