It’s not all bad…

Published November 25, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

I realized last night that most of my blogs have been complaints about the terrible nights with Briana, and complaints about breastfeeding. Of course, being Briana’s mommy is not all terrible moments. The terrible moments are far outweighed by the happy moments, proud moments, and moments of amazement.

I knew that time would fly once she was born, but I hadn’t fully grasped what that meant until I brought her home. When she was born, she was already holding her head up a bit for a few seconds at a time. As wobbly as it was, it was still pretty amazing, considering how tiny she was. Now, she is twenty days old already, and holds her head up and looks around, and pushes herself further up your chest with her feet. She is awake for longer stretches every day, looking around at the world with her daddy’s beautiful eyes. She is fascinated by lights, and it’s pretty fun to watch her stare at nothing on a wall and try to figure out what caught her attention. And I swear she grows bigger and stronger every single second of the day! I can’t believe how much she has grown already. I almost cried last night. I was looking at her and I started to get misty eyed. David asked why and I said “She’s getting so big already! I’m not ready for her to get big yet!” Lucky for me, my husband is a nice guy, and he didn’t laugh at me. He just put his arms around me and told me that we “have quite a while with her yet.” What I thought in response, but didn’t say, was “Not so long…it’s gonna fly.”

I love being a mom, and I love being a “family” instead of a “couple.” I love watching my baby sleep, and rocking her, and kissing her little face. (And watching her facial expressions after I cover her face with kisses isn’t such a bad thing either…she always looks confused. :)) I love how every moment brings something new or precious or unexpected. I love watching David take delight in her every action, and I love listening to him talk to her and praise her and watch his face as he watches her. I love how much love has entered our lives since Briana was born.

Life as a mommy is pretty amazing, and I am so excited to experience all of it, whether good or bad.

Amazed New Mommy

4 comments on “It’s not all bad…

  • You are absolutely right! Although, please don’t feel bad about the previous posts…we have all been there and you will be again. It’s the way of being a parent. Hardest job, not always fun, but the best job in the world.

    Enjoy every second, which is what you are seeming to live by. It goes quick. Before you know it, in the seeming blink of an eye, Briana will be coming upon her 9th bday. šŸ˜¦ I realized the other day, I am half way to my Cailyn being an adult (at least legally, lol).

  • Leave a Reply

