Bring on the night shift…

Published November 27, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

Briana has her days and nights mixed up…that’s the bad news. The good news is that there is a stretch (during the day) that she is sleeping for four to six hours at a time. So if we can just try to move that stretch to say…1AM to 5, 6, or 7AM, I would be a happy camper!

The nights are the most frustrating for me. During the day it is adorable when she is awake and making faces at me and making noise and fighting sleep. At night, all I want to do is catch some much needed sleep, and the same things that were so cute during the day become pull-out-my-hair frustrating at night, especially since her favorite noise at night is an ear piercing shriek instead of cute little sighs and grunts and coos. I usually do okay with it until about four, when I become so absolutely exhausted that I run out of patience.

Of course, I have been pretty bad about taking naps during the day, especially if David is at work. There is so much stuff to get done…dishes piled up in the sink and laundry to do (especially Briana’s since she is the master of spit-up and the occasional diaper mishap), and bottles in need of washing seem to multiply every time I turn around. Then, just when I get a few things done and think “Okay, I will take that nap now,” Briana wakes up and needs to be fed or changed, or just wants to be cuddled. I don’t mind taking care of these things for her at all – it’s what I signed up for when I became a parent, and I love taking care of her. It does leave one exhausted though, when the night shift rolls around, and your hubby has to be able to function at work the next day, so it’s all on you.

So today, I decided I need to take better care of myself, so that I can have more patience with her at night. She took a four hour nap today, so I took a four hour nap today. David is home from work, and we have eaten dinner, so he is on baby duty, and as soon as I am done with this blog, I am on sleep duty. I can’t be a good mommy to my baby girl if all I am focused on at night is how much I want her to be quiet. The same will be true, I am sure, but at least I won’t be as exhausted, and I can take a bit more joy out of holding her, even when she is screaming and fussing.

Briana and I swayed and rocked and sang and danced our way through last night, rather than both of us crying and getting super frustrated with each other. Since I was more aware (read: had gotten more rest), I was better able to tell what it was that she really wanted, so she spent less time screaming and more just squirming around to get a better view of mommy, or the light, or a random place on the wall. She was just kind of taking it all in…unless I set her down. Then she was screaming again. Not much of a view from her bassinet, I guess.

Was I still exhausted this morning? You bet. But at least I wasn’t in tears. And that makes all the difference.

20121127-194044.jpg

3 comments on “Bring on the night shift…

  • Do you have a mobile over her bassinet? I wonder if that would help give her something to look at then you set her down? I don’t know, just trying to help! ^_^

  • Fisher Price Ocean Wonders Aquarium. OMG it was a life saver for me.

    Sounds like you’ve adopted mine and Pat’s system. When Cailyn was a newborn…I had it quite easier, sorry….we did shifts. Cailyn seemed to eat somewhere between 12-1, and Pat was always still up, so I went to bed early and stayed up, fed her and then went to bed. Next feeding somewhere between 3-4, that would be when I would get up. Same thing, just different hours.

    I think that is great that you have decided to let David handle some things in the early evening while you get some sleep. I know you want to do it all, bc David has to work in the morning and you don’t…but believe me, it’s a good start, bc David is going to have to juggle baby/child with work somewhat. You are always a parent, even if you work. No offense against David, I know he has been super fantastic for you, and a great support….just saying in reference to your own thinking.

    Keep up the good work Mama!

  • Leave a Reply

