“So much baby stuff!!”

Published November 29, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

David and I were sitting in the living room tonight, with Briana sleeping in her little rocker thing, and David started shifting around because he was sitting on something. He reached around and pulled out a burp cloth. Then he reached around the other side and found a receiving blanket, and behind him, a baby bottle. He put on his best “woe is me, I’m being dramatic” voice, and said “SO much BABY stuff!”

Our apartment really has been taken over by baby items. And every time I clean up one mess, ten more develop, so it’s not that we’re slobs, it just seems like her stuff keeps taking over every location not dedicated to something else in our space! I keep finding burp cloths in the weirdest places. In our bed, under our bed, in between couch cushions, on the floor in random places…they multiply! And bottles do the same thing, although they don’t usually end up under our bed, in our bed, or in random places on the floor. They’re just multiplying in the living room and kitchen. Good grief! Our life has been taken over by baby supplies! 🙂

Briana is totally worth it, however, so I’m not too worried. Last night was not quite as rough as the night before, but was still pretty difficult. She just wouldn’t stay asleep. She was quieter about it though. She just didn’t like being put in her bassinet. She would sleep if I was holding her. People keep warning me about “spoiling” her by holding her while she sleeps too much, but according to the pediatrician (and What To Expect The First Year), that’s not true for an infant so young. In fact, both the doctor and the book say that the more quickly you respond to your infant when they are this young, the more secure and independent your baby will be when she gets a little older. So we’ll see.

I’ve been trying to comfort her without actually picking her up out of her bassinet to see if she would go back to sleep without all the jostle and movement of me picking her up. It would work for a minute or two, but in the end, she always wanted to be held. I am wondering if she is cold, because our room can get kind of chilly at night. We have her wrapped in receiving blankets, but she wiggles her way out of those with all of her kicking and arm waving and wriggling around. We bought some warmer pajamas for her yesterday, so we’ll see if those help at all tonight. (It seems unlikely that this is why she keeps fussing, but I’ll try anything at this point. :))

This morning she kept spitting up. A lot. She threw up on me several times in the wee hours of the morning, and then, as I was rocking her this morning when David was getting ready for work, she spit up all over my hands, arms, shirt, and the freakin’ sheets on the bed. I swore. Not at her, just because I had hit my spit-up tolerance limit. “Are you freakin’ kidding me?!” David asked me what was wrong from the other room. He came in and found me basically sitting in a puddle of spit-up, near tears, and yet again exhausted from a night with no sleep. He assessed the situation. He picked up the phone. And he called in to work and told them he needed to stay home. Then he took Briana, changed her diaper and her outfit, told me to get something to eat, and then to go to bed.

I felt guilty about him missing work, but I was too tired to argue. I ate a (highly nutritious :)) bowl of Rice Krispies, changed pajamas, and crawled into David’s side of the bed, since my side was gross and wet, and fell straight to sleep. I was too tired to change the sheets (although that will be happening before bed tonight). I slept until 2:30, and I only woke up because my boobs were saying “hey stupid, you need to pump.” Ahhh….Glorious sleep…followed by being a milk cow. (Feels like that some days anyway!) My husband is the best. I feel much refreshed by the equivalent of a full nights sleep (or close to one anyway), and plan on getting another nap after I post the blog. So hopefully tonight will be easier.

I read Briana a story today for the first time. Bear Snores On. It’s a cute one. I know she doesn’t understand the story, but she sat there in my arms and stared up at my face while I read it to her, listening to my voice. She looked very content and sleepy, and like she felt safe and happy, and that made my heart happy. She makes my heart happy, no doubt about it. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful little baby, even if she does keep me up all night. My husband is a blessing, too…I don’t think I would have made it through today if he hadn’t stayed home. Not without hysterical bouts of sobbing brought on by total exhaustion anyway.

One day at a time…

Still a Tired New Mommy

We were trying to get a good picture of her in her cute Minnie outfit, but she didn’t feel like having her picture taken…

2 comments on ““So much baby stuff!!”

  • Οοph tough morning!! I wonder if doctors say not to coddle, because most adults would get themselves into the habit, so that by the time the baby is old enough and would start to expect it, the parents wouldn’t stop because they’re in the habit of going to the baby. Never thought about it ’til I read what your doctor was saying 🙂

    • I agree with this here. I think it’s a good thing when they are very little, and when they get a little older it becomes a spoiling thing. Right now, you’re taking care of her needs. Babies need touch…comfort, affection, safety and security.

  • Leave a Reply

