A good couple of nights, followed by the roughest day.

Published December 4, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

Briana has started sleeping for larger chunks of time at night. This is good. The bad part is that she refuses to go to sleep in her bassinet. I discovered quite by accident that she will sleep at night in her Fisher Price Rock and Play Sleeper. The other night I completely gave up on going to bed in my bedroom, and just stayed with her out in the living room.

I had given up on trying to sleep at all, and was sitting on the couch just waiting for her to wake up. I had to wait for quite a long time, because she actually slept really well. I thought it must be a fluke, so I did the same thing the next night, with the same results. I think she likes the sleeper because it cradles her (unlike the bassinet), and it has her laying at a slight incline instead of flat on her back. She startles awake less when she sleeps in it.

The only problem is that I don’t think the Sleep and Play is technically meant for overnight sleeping…I don’t think it is “SIDS prevention” friendly. *sigh* I am a pretty reasonable new mom, but the one thing I can’t help but be obsessively terrified about is SIDS. Last night I brought the Sleep and Play into the bedroom with us to see if she would sleep well in it again, and she did. But I hardly slept any more than I do when she is wide awake, because every time she so much as twitched I was waking up to make sure that she was okay. At least I know she doesn’t like her bassinet.

Maybe I can find something else for her to sleep in…Or maybe I’ll just bring her crib into the bedroom from the nursery and set it up by the bed. Of course, there’s no guarantee that she’ll like sleeping in her crib anymore than she likes sleeping in her bassinet. The crib won’t cradle her or keep her from startling herself awake. Good grief. I’ll just ask her pediatrician on Thursday if she can sleep in the Sleep and Play. If he says no, I’ll have to figure something else out. If he says yes, I can stop worrying and get some more sleep.

Speaking of pediatricians, David and I almost took Briana in to the walk-in clinic this evening. I had noticed that she had a little bit of a rash this morning, but it didn’t seem to be bothering her, and she didn’t have a fever, so I wasn’t too worried about it. I figured I would keep an eye on it and call the doctor if it got worse.

She slept for quite a while today, but she woke up around 3:00 this afternoon needing a diaper change and a bottle. While I was changing her diaper, I changed her outfit, because she’d had a bit of a diaper blow-out. Her rash didn’t seem to be any worse. I put her in this really cute outfit that her Aunt Sarah had gotten her. It’s a pink and white striped onesie that says “We are the future” on the front in blue lettering on the front.

She ate about half her bottle, and then I stopped to burp her, and after she burped she started to scream bloody murder. I got up and rocked her and sang to her, still trying to burp her, figuring that was what was wrong. She burped (and spit up) again, so I sat down to try to give her the rest of her bottle. She refused to take it. She wasn’t still screaming, but she was really fussy.

I tried to burp her again, but that wasn’t it. I checked her diaper, but that wasn’t it either. Hmmm…I was having a mommy spaz moment, and didn’t think to check her rash, so I just sang to her and rocked her and walked the apartment with her. I offered her a pacifier, and tried her bottle again. I tried everything I could think of. She would just not settle down.

Eventually I checked her diaper again, and then I noticed her rash was a lot worse. By then David was home, so I had him look at it, too, and asked if he thought we should take her in to the doctor. Just about that time she started to scream again. Non-stop, very shrill, unhappy, heartbreaking screaming. David told me to call the doctor.

So I call the doctor’s office, and get a hold of a nurse, and she asks some questions and asks some more questions, and then makes a few suggestions, but says that we don’t need to bring her in…unless she continues to scream and seems really uncomfortable after we try the things she suggested (a cool bath, a cool wash cloth laid on the rash for 5 minutes, calamine lotion, etc.).

We had already stripped her out of the onesie, just in case it was further irritating her rash, so we tried the wash cloth thing first. She just screamed louder. I didn’t want to try to put her in her bathtub when she was so upset (she kept throwing her weight around, and I didn’t want to try to keep hold of her in a tub while she was doing that), so I sent David to the store to get the calamine lotion. He was back in just a few minutes and we liberally applied the lotion.

By this time it was 6:00. She had been screaming on and off for three hours, and I was so worried about her I was nearly in tears. By 6:30 we had decided to take her in to the doctor. Usually when we put her in her car seat she falls straight to sleep, but this time she started screaming so loudly and at such a high pitch that it actually hurt my ears. 😦 Poor baby! She screamed and fussed all the way out to the car, and fussed while I was getting into the back of the van with her, and cried while David turned on the van. And then he started backing up out of our parking spot, and Briana fell straight to sleep.

We decided to still head over to the doctor, just in case she woke up again, but she slept the whole way there. We drove past the doctor’s office, down to the Mukilteo beach, and back. She didn’t stir. We went through a drive-thru to get some dinner, and headed home. We parked and took her out of the car and she didn’t stir…David walked up the stairs with her and walked in the front door, and then set her down. And she started screaming again. *sigh*

I realized that she had never finished her bottle earlier and decided to try feeding her. At first that seemed like it was what she wanted, but then it wasn’t. Changed her diaper (and noticed that her rash looked a lot better already – we think the material of that cool looking onesie irritated her rash because it wasn’t 100% cotton like all the other clothes we’ve put her in), rocked her, and got her calmed down enough that she finally settled in to eat her dinner. (Thank goodness…)

After another two hours of fussing and crying and occasional screams, she finally fell back to sleep on David’s chest…about thirty seconds before he conked out as well. I would move her to her Sleep and Play, but I’m terrified to move her, so I’m leaving them both where they are. Hopefully she’ll sleep really well tonight – she was awake for 6 and a half hours today, and she was crying almost the whole time she was awake. That has to be exhausting, right?

Anyway, this entry has gone on a lot longer than I meant it to. I just needed to share the story of my day. Somehow, getting it out there always makes me feel better. Here’s hoping my poor baby girl feels better after a good nap, and that the rash goes away quickly.

Worried New Mommy

Holding up her own bottle today...

Briana held up her own bottle for about two and a half minutes this evening. It made us laugh. 🙂

 

2 comments on “A good couple of nights, followed by the roughest day.

  • Leave a Reply

