If only every day could be like today…

Published December 5, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

Briana and I had a great day today. I didn’t think it would end up that way. I couldn’t sleep again last night, so I did not fall asleep until about five o’clock this morning. (She slept from ten to one in the morning, then from about two-thirty until six. Briana is getting much better at the whole night versus day thing!) David changed her diaper for me before he got in the shower, but I had to get up to feed her. Normally I would try to go back to bed, but since she is sleeping well at night, I decided it was my schedule that needed some adjusting now – and I got up with her.

We saw Daddy off to work, and then we hung out on the couch. I sang to her and she made faces at me and added to my song with random noises and spit bubbles. I wasn’t feeling sleepy – quite the opposite in fact. I think it was a mix of that exhaustion-induced adrenaline rush and the fact that I knew David and I were going to settle on our final dates for our annual Disney World trip when he came home on his lunch today. I was so excited that I didn’t feel tired. Either way, since my ultimate goal was not “Get the baby to sleep” we enjoyed each others company for quite a while.

Briana was awake until about nine, then decided it was time for a nap. I should have taken one as well, but again, wide awake. So I watched the Disney Channel in a fit of enthusiasm, and shook my head at the plot on Wizards of Waverly Place. The logic of turning your parents into guinea pigs to avoid showing them a “Wizard Report Card” escapes me. Perhaps my imagination isn’t keen enough to understand the complexity of television meant for younger viewers.

Briana snoozed through me channel surfing, and my obsessive checking and re-checking of the price of different dates for our Disney World trip, and me watching “Baby Story” on TLC and being very judgmental of the all the newborn babies. (“My baby was much more beautiful when she was born.” *snicker* I’m not biased at all…)

David came home for his lunch around noon, and she woke up at 12:30, acting like we never feed her. Silly baby! While she attacked her bottle like a starving child, David and I decided on the dates for our September trip, and chatted about how his day was going.

After he left, I was burping Briana, and she threw up down my shirt again. Not nearly as bad as the last time, when the spit up went down into my bra, but it was still gross. The annoying part was, she was up on my shoulder two seconds before she spit-up, with her face on the burp cloth. Just before she got sick, she threw her weight towards the center of my body and grabbed onto the neck of my shirt…then she spit up. If I didn’t know better, I’d say she was aiming! (“Target acquired! Launching lunch now.”)

Oh, well. No one was home except the two of us, so I just stripped off my shirt and threw it in the washer, and stole one of David’s t-shirts from the dryer. Problem solved, at least until I could grab a shower once David was home from work. I’m probably ridiculous, but I’ve been taking my showers in the evening once David gets home, so that he can watch her and she isn’t on her own. Of course, the upside of my paranoia is that I can take a half hour-long shower if I want, or even just stay in there until the hot water runs out. Luxury!

Briana stayed awake until four-thirty! WOO HOO! *happy dance* I think we have successfully turned her sleep schedule around….*knock on wood* We’ll see how tonight goes! I’m hoping it goes well, since I’m running on about an hour of sleep, and I could really use three or four hours at a time. 🙂

Briana is one month old today, and I am having the hardest time wrapping my head around the fact that she’s that old already! She has grown and changed so much in the last month, and is growing and changing more and more every day, it’s just astonishing. I love her. She’s…amazing.

Amazed and Happy New Mommy

Pink Elephants

She is almost too big for the newborn sizes already!

 

 

 

8 comments on “If only every day could be like today…

  • I am glad to see that her schedule is straightening out! You just watch, spit up is NOTHING. We each got a squirt of POOP aimed straight at us. (If the poop hole moves, cover it fast.) I know what you mean about not showering without your husband. I did that for a while, too. Then I decided it wasn’t practical, so I switched to putting him in his carseat and putting the carseat by the bathtub, until I was comfortable leaving him in the playpen (read: until he was old enough for me to feel okay with it and he protested the car seat so much that I figured he’d be happier in the playpen). I even took him with me to the toilet!

    (And one day at about 3 months, he squrimed and squirmed and got himself out of the carseat, with his head where the tush is supposed to be and his tush on the floor. From that day on I strapped him in, and from that day on he hated the carseat if it wasn’t in a car. I was just glad that he was right in front of me when it happened!)

    • She has gotten me with poop twice – and managed to get it all over the wall once. It was SO gross! That would be scary with the squirmy guy squirming out of his car seat! The one time I took a shower when David wasn’t home, I brought her Fisher Price Rock n’ Play Sleeper into the bathroom with me so I could peek out and check on her once in a while. She just sat there looking around, taking in everything. It was cute! I guess I could do that again. I think I only did it that time because I needed to take her somewhere and didn’t want to be all grungy when I did it. 😛

  • Glad she is doing better at night! WHOO HOO! Dates set for Disney. I am having some Disney blues right now, and won’t be planning any trips for the next couple years. 😦

    Here’s hoping for a good night tonight for you and Briana!

    • I’m glad you stopped by to check out my blog! Yes, David and I are both young. We met when we were 13, started dating when we were 14, got engaged at 18, and married when we were 20. So even though we are young, we’ve been together for a long time. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

