I must need to work out or something.

Published December 13, 2012 by jessicalynndunning

Briana is growing so much every day! Late last night, as I was walking around the apartment with her (because she decided to revert to not sleeping at night last night for some reason, and was awake from 1:30 to 4:30), my arms were getting awfully tired, and my back started to hurt, and I actually had to put her down because I was getting sore. So either she has gained a lot of weight in a short period of time, or I need to start working out and stop being such a weakling. 🙂

There are things no one thinks to warn you about before you bring your baby home from the hospital with you…like how heavy everything is that you are suddenly required to be carrying with you everywhere you go. Between the car seat/infant carrier, diaper bag, and baby, I feel like I suddenly need a lot more muscle than I used to. Carrying a purse with a wallet, cell phone, and a paperback book inside doesn’t exactly require you to be Wonder Woman.

It’s not really so bad when David comes along with me, because he usually carries the baby carrier and, a lot of times, the diaper bag as well. Being by myself presents challenges though. I usually have to use both hands to carry Briana in her car seat, and carrying her upstairs to our apartment on the second floor leaves me breathless. Forget bringing up groceries and the baby. I don’t go shopping unless I have help anymore. I don’t know how single moms juggle everything on their own, because some days I feel like I can barely cope, and I have a husband! 🙂

I realize part of the problem (well, okay, all of it) is me. I haven’t worked out since…well, a long time. I quit the gym in the middle of my pregnancy because I was wasting my money – I never had the energy to go. There is a workout center at my apartment complex, but I haven’t made my way over there yet. I have my six week postpartum checkup on Monday, so after that I will have no excuses for not whipping my sorry butt back into shape. I have eleven pounds to lose before I am at my pre-pregnancy weight, but I would like to lose those eleven pounds plus…twenty more. That would be good. That would be amazing!

Anyway. This coming Tuesday I will be forced to finally be brave enough to leave my girl with her grandparents. David got me tickets to see the Nutcracker by the Pacific Northwest Ballet at McCaw Hall! I have been wanting to see it for years – ever since I missed my 4th grade class field trip to go see it. He asked me what I wanted for Christmas, and I said to go see the Nutcracker. I thought he would say we couldn’t afford it, but he bought me tickets! Woo hoo! So exciting.

I’m nervous about leaving her, but I know that she’ll be okay, and I also know that I’ll really enjoy seeing the ballet. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for 15 years. So there’s some incentive for me to get out of the house and leave Briana for a couple of hours. 🙂 We’ll see how this goes.

Excited New Mommy

 

 

6 comments on “I must need to work out or something.

  • Yeah, lugging a baby around with all the gear is hard! That is one thing that I am dumbfounded of when I see, people holding their baby walking around somewhere where they have no choice but to hold them…like I have seen it at WDW!

    I am so glad to hear that you’re going on a date night to see the Nutcracker! Especially since it’s something you’ve wanted to do for so long. How exciting!

    Just keep in mind, that Briana will be fine with her grandparents, they’ve done it before…they are pros basically! LOL They have raised great people like you and David!

    Have a great time, and make sure one of your future blog posts is about how much you enjoyed your night!
    🙂

    • Oh, I also wanted to say…be thankful that you don’t have sciatic nerve issues. I had it when Cailyn was born, it lasted from about 1.5 months old- 4 months old. I couldn’t hold her at ALL. That was when the Boppy became my best friend for doing feedings. I couldn’t even hold her to feed her. To pick her up out of her bassinet and put her in her Boppy, car seat, or other device was about all I could handle. Pain….oh the pain. Not good.

      You’ll do it, and it will get harder too, as she gets bigger…but it will also get somewhat easier too, bc you get used to it. Weird. LOL

  • Great! I am glad you have such a good incentive to leave Briana with her grandparents. 🙂 And that you got exactly what you wanted for a present.
    Can you leave the carseat in the car, just to make life easier? Maybe use a backpack as a diaper bag?

  • Leave a Reply

