Happy (?) New Year!

Published January 2, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

My days and nights have kind of started blurring together. When your baby randomly decides to stay awake until five in the morning (when she usually falls asleep at 1AM and sleeps through until 7 or 8), it makes for living in a  perpetual haze. I don’t understand the random “let’s stay awake all night” days. It’s frustrating. I mean, I’m glad she doesn’t wake up every hour all night long anymore, but the fact that she only randomly stays awake all night almost makes it more frustrating. Since I’m expecting to get at least six hours of sleep at a time, and she’s awake most of the afternoon and evening now, I don’t get the naps I used to when she had no schedule at all.

Ugh. I’ll get over it eventually, but it’s frustrating me right now.

She is growing so fast…I’m almost afraid to take her to her appointment on the 7th…I don’t want to know how much bigger she’s gotten, it’ll make me sad! (On the other hand, I can’t wait to find out…it’s so exciting!) I wish she would tolerate tummy time better. Since we got her activity mat she is doing a bit better with it, but I can’t make myself leave her down there on her tummy once she starts to cry and scream, so I end up picking her up after five minutes or so. She loves that mat when she is lying on her back and can see the toys, but the cute little animals on the mat itself don’t hold her attention for long. It’s so amazing to see her reaching for toys and holding onto them now. She loves rattles right now. It’s very sweet.

I’m still really back and forth about going back to work. David’s job is making it tough to decide, too, because they keep changing his hours. I won’t even give details here, we’ll just leave it at “It’s confusing.” Since his job is our main money-maker, I’ll have to set my hours around his, and if they don’t leave his hours alone, it’s going to be tough to set my availability at work. It’s a frustrating sort of situation.

I’ve been really dizzy lately, and light-headed. I don’t know why. I guess it could be exhaustion, but I’ve gone on less sleep than I’m getting now for longer periods of time. Then there’s the fact that I still haven’t stopped bleeding from having Briana, and it’s been 8 weeks. I went in for my six-week appointment and my doctor told me to call and make another appointment if I hadn’t stopped bleeding by 8 weeks after Briana was born, so I’ll be calling tomorrow. I guess I get to go in for an ultrasound now. *sarcastic cheer* This one won’t be near as exciting as the ones I had while I was pregnant.

I guess I should be more concerned, but I’m too busy to be worried about it. I’m more irritated by it then anything. David’s worried though. At least one of us is watching out for my health. 😛

I went through my closet and took all my maternity clothes out and boxed them up. Yay! No more maternity clothes for me…so I need to either go shopping or get my butt off the couch and get back in shape. At least my old clothes fit me…not well, but well enough to not be embarrassed to be seen in them or anything.

Anyway, I’m off.

Dizzy New Mommy

538629_10151400682923274_550367134_n

 

One comment on “Happy (?) New Year!

  • First of all, I had postpartum bleeding for 8 full weeks, and only then did it stop. I can name others who had 8-10 weeks, too.
    Second, you’re right that you’ve gone longer than this without getting enough sleep, but now you are feeding two people, and Briana takes a lot of your energy, liquid, and calories. So, no, it’s not the same. You should be drinking about 16 cups a day (double the usual requirement). And, just making the milk takes 500 calories – not including the 500 that go into the milk itself! That’s a whole lot – of course you’re more tired. I had the same issues, and thought the same thing – till my DH pointed this out to me. I didn’t like it (when will I get back to being myself-type of thing), but it’s true.
    You;re luckier than me – it took about five months before my old clothes fit at all again!

  • Leave a Reply

