Cribs and Naps and Screaming, Oh My!

Published March 23, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

Since Briana was about three or four weeks old, she has been sleeping in her Fisher Price Rock ‘n Play Sleeper. We tried a bassinet first, and it just didn’t work. She woke up every few minutes crying. In desperation one night, I put her in the sleeper, figuring that since it cradled her, she would sleep better. Voila! It worked. 7-10 hours of solid sleep every night. Now that is coming back to bite me.

We are trying to transition her to sleeping in her crib. She hasn’t hit the weight limit on the sleeper yet (she still has at least 10 pounds to go before that happens), but she is getting really close to being able to pull herself into a sitting position in it, and I’m afraid that even with the safety straps, it just isn’t going to be okay for her sleep in it for much longer. The problem is, she is used to sleeping in a slightly inclined position, in a sleeper that cradles her. Obviously, the crib doesn’t do either one for her, and she gets quite (vocally) ticked off at me when I try to make her sleep in it.

It took a week (or so), but I finally having her take her midday nap in the. Sort of. Her nap used to be at least an hour, sometimes an hour and a half or even two hours. Now it only lasts from 30-45 minutes, but it’s a start, and I’m not going to jinx it by complaining. (Even though she is a grumpy little bugger lately from lack of a “proper” nap. It’s still progress!) I’ve only tried to put her in there at night twice, because I really don’t like having her in the other room. Call me a sucker if you want, but the crib is moving to our bedroom tomorrow (Saturday), and then I’ll feel so much better about it (which means I can be consistent).

Another problem of my own creation is that she won’t fall asleep unless someone is holding her, and usually that someone better have a bottle in hand. Once you finally get her to sleep, you have to get her into bed without waking her up! This is a habit she picked up when we were desperate for her to fall asleep any way we could get her to fall asleep. *sigh* The bad routines that I get myself into!

Tonight, she fell asleep in David’s lap and woke up as I was putting her in her sleeper. Instead of picking her up, I buckled her safety straps, kissed her face, and walked away. She started “singing.” That’s what David and I call it when she is making noise continuously, but she’s just making noise to self-soothe. It was so soft and cute. We could hear her in the living room, and David went to check on her twice. The second time he came back and laughingly told me that she fell asleep in the middle of her song. “Eh eh eh eh eh snooooze.” 🙂 So that’s progress, too.

I’m celebrating small victories this week, because it has been really rough. Since she isn’t sleeping as much during the day, Briana has been especially clingy and needy. And vocal in her displeasure. Today she screamed. And screamed. And screamed. It wasn’t crying, it was full on shrieking. I could tell she was just tired, but she had hit that point where she was too tired and upset to sleep, even though I had been trying to get her to sleep for two or three hours and she had been fighting it. I was in tears by the end of it, but she finally conked out in my lap. I was too worn out to try to put her in her crib, so I wimped out and let her sleep on my shoulder. Today was one of those days where at one point I had to put her in her crib and close her bedroom door and just walk away for twenty minutes. Taking care of a shrieking infant when you have a migraine is not my idea of fun. 😦

Briana also still hasn’t gotten over her “Oh my gosh I don’t know you” syndrome (AKA Stranger Danger as discussed in my last blog). I’ve been trying to let other people hold her even after she starts to get upset, but as my sister in law said a few weeks back “I don’t hold crying things that aren’t mine.” 🙂 Let’s face it: who really wants to hold an infant who starts screaming and crying the moment they realize that it’s not mom or dad holding them? It’s continuous…It doesn’t even let up after a few minutes. My dad and I tried yesterday. I handed him the baby and walked away to another room so she couldn’t see me. I think it was probably five minutes? She screamed the whole time. It broke my heart, and I think his, too, because he finally called me back in and told me to give her a hug and tell her everything was okay.

Any tips on helping her get over this? I know I need to let people hold her, and I do, but once she starts shrieking and freaking out, people hand her back to me because they don’t WANT to hold her…and I can’t blame them. That girl has a set of lungs on her!

 

Still a New Mommy

(Having Many Sleep-Time MISadventures)

 

 

Briana’s First Trip To The Park

Bri Bee 038 Bri Bee 039 Bri Bee 041 Bri Bee 044 Bri Bee 048 Bri Bee 056 Bri Bee 060 Bri Bee 062 Bri Bee 065

 

 

 

11 comments on “Cribs and Naps and Screaming, Oh My!

  • She is adorable. 🙂 I wouldn’t push her to go with “strangers”…she will when she’s ready and a tiny bit older. My daughter was the same with needing to be held and put in her bed very, very carefully. With my son (first child) I read all the sleep books and felt like I was doing something wrong if I didn’t do what they said. With my daughter, I did what felt right for her. Sometimes that meant rocking her until she slept. Sometimes I would put her in her crib awake but drowsy and let her cry for just a few minutes (2), then go back in and rock her. It was almost like she needed a few minutes of crying to burn a bunch of energy because then she would go right to sleep. It is so, so exhausting when they won’t sleep. It is not “wimping out” at all to let her sleep on you. 🙂 You might like my latest blog post…I write about how it does get easier.

    • I will definitely go check out your blog post when I have a second. Everyone keeps telling me to use the cry it out method, but I really can’t stand letting her cry, it breaks my heart and her crying goes from mad to sad to scared sounding. And that’s just in twenty minutes, the longest I have been able to allow her to cry before I have to go get her.

      I have been reading up on other methods, so we will see how things go.

  • Your daughter is gorgeous! I haven’t been able to do the cry it out method either, can’t stand the sound of my daughter crying 😦 So she falls asleep on me and then I transfer her to the cot. I figure that whatever works and means she gets some sleep – why fight it! 🙂

  • I am glad you’re finally getting her to sleep in the crib. I was going to suggest the carseat, for the incline.

    You’re not a sucker – I wanted Shlomo in our room, too – ideally until one year. Un-ideally, we still only have one bedroom, so he is 2 years old and still in our room. Hopefully we will move soon and he’ll have his own room. I think EVERYONE will be happier then.

    One thing that always helped with my siblings (and Shlomo) was separating them from my arms slowly. First I would stand up, still singing/rocking. Then walk to the crib, keeping it up. Then slooowly move my arms away from my body. Then lower him (or her) into the crib, still rocking/singing/patting tush. Then stop the rocking, and lower a bit more. Then put him into the crib, patting the tummy instead. Then walk out the door, still siinging, but slowly lowering the volume. Then close the door. About 7-10 minutes.
    Does she take a pacifier? Explain to her that bottles are for food, and we don’t eat when we sleep, so she needs a pacifier. Trust me, she understands your explanations. 🙂

    Hope that wasn’t too long…

    P.S. – Stranger Danger is good! And I just realized, Briana looks like you. 🙂

    • She doesn’t take a pacifier. She never really liked them. She is getting used to her crib, so in another week or so I am going to start working in getting her to eat an hour or so before bed, and falling asleep on her own in the crib. I feel like one thing at a time won’t cause so much uproar! 🙂

      And thank you! David always says she looks like me, too.

      • It’s not as tough as you might think. I just have to be super aware of what she needs. I have gotten really good at identifying whether she is tired, wet, bored, just wants attention, has a tummy ache. Although it would be nice some days to just be able to give her a pacifier when she is fussy, I’m not going to lie! I hear some babies love them and some babies don’t…mine doesn’t. 🙂

      • It sounds like you are really in tune with Brianna! Yeah, I have two siblings who loved their pacifiers, and two who wouldn’t touch them (I had my thumb). As long as she has other ways of calming down, it’s all good. 🙂 And mine? He likes it too much.

  • Leave a Reply

