Crawling and Screaming and Eating…Oh, my!

Published April 23, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

The last few days have been interesting with our little Bri Bee. She is discovering her voice, and is going through that stage I was dreading: the screaming stage. She screams when she wants attention and screams when she is playing and screams for no reason at all…and then giggles. I am doing my best to follow the advice of a friend and not to react to the screaming for fear Briana will think it is a game…but I have gotten a few headaches this week. She has a strong pair of lungs!

Briana has now had the dubious pleasure of eating rice cereal, and has graduated to peas. She didn’t seem overly fond of either one, though David and I have thoroughly enjoyed the faces she makes when we give them to her. We are going to try carrots next. We are sticking to vegetables and cereal for now, because we have been told that if you introduce fruit first it’s a lot harder to introduce veggies. Hopefully that’s good advice.

Briana is blowing me away, growing and learning and changing so much every day. She laughs constantly now, and loves it when people clap – she likes to put her hands on the back of mine while I clap for her, but hasn’t quite figured out how to do it herself yet. It’s so cute! She thinks it’s funny when I laugh, she always starts to laugh, too.

She truly crawled for the first time last night. She had been scooting along the floor for quite a while, but last night I had my iPhone sitting on the floor while I played with her during tummy time, and someone sent me a text. When she saw that screen light up, she went for it! Oh my goodness! It’s very exciting, but terrible timing! Our house looks like a tornado or a hurricane or…a group of rampaging four year olds has recently run through. We are in the middle of moving! Not exactly a baby-proofed environment. All day long today I was saying “no, no, Briana” and “leave that alone Briana.” Luckily nothing untoward happened. The next couple of weeks will be interesting!

Bri has also discovered how fun it is to splash during bath time. David was closest to the splash zone while I was washing her hair, and his shirt got soaked. It made me giggle. He had to take off his glasses when a particularly strong kick gave him a face full of soapy water. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am just glad that she still loves baths.

She is starting to sit up unsupported, though she can’t pull herself into a sitting position yet, and she is still pretty wobbly. She tipped over before I could catch her on Saturday and bonked her head on my laptop. I felt terrible, but she let out one little cry and stopped and smiled at me as soon as I picked her up, so I think it hurt me more than it did her. Just another MisAdventure to add to my bag, I suppose.

She is getting a little better with strangers, but still isn’t great. We’re working on it ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, I almost forgot! Briana is starting to learn how to wave “bye bye” to people. I think it’s more her imitating our motion at this point with no understanding of the concept, but it is still super adorable when she waves her arm up and down at you when you wave and say “bye bye!” We get a kick out of it. And I swear she has said “mama” a couple times, but I don’t know…that might be wishful thinking on my part, just random sounds that happened to sound like a word.

Anyway…that’s all I have for you at the moment! Hope it was a tiny bit entertaining for you, folks.

Excited New Mommy

20130423-015953.jpg

5 comments on “Crawling and Screaming and Eating…Oh, my!

  • Yay! I am happy to hear all the milestones Briana has been reaching. I am in the veggies before fruits camp. That is what I did too, bc someone told me that same info. Worked for me! Hopefully, it does you too. It make sense to me, bc obviously fruits are going to taste better than veggies.

    As far as her saying mama….she SO could be. She is old enough now. Don’t be so quick to dismiss words you might hear her say. I have found (and my Gram pointed out to me) that a lot of first time parents don’t realize that their baby is talking. They just chalk it up to sounds…when really they are talking! More than likely…if you think you’re hearing mama, you ARE! WHOO HOO! Go Briana!

  • Yay! Yep, she could be saying mama. (But she’ll only continue if you respond to it, which I’m sure you do.) Brianna is crawling? She’s early! Time to start crawling and babyproofing, huh? Yeah, we were told to start with oatmeal and bananas, and to make sure that we introduced enough not-sweet foods that he wouldn’t develop a taste for sweet stuff only. So far, so good – thank G-d . . . I also read that there’s new research that says that if you eat veggies while you nurse, then the kid likes them more because the taste passes into the milk and makes it less sweet. Don’t know if it’s true, though.

    • My problem is that it is really tough to baby proof in the middle of a move, so I am feeling a bit panicked, lol! I am so proud of her though. I try to eat veggies fairly often since I am still giving her breast milk, but I am not as good about it as I should be.

      • It is tough . . . any way that you can put the boxes/mess in a room with a door, and just close the door? Or keep Brianna in baby-safe rooms with doors? She is really doing well, you should be proud! ๐Ÿ™‚ Again, I don’t know whether the research is true – but it sure doesn’t hurt to try, especially if it makes mom healthier.

  • Leave a Reply

