A Quick Little Update

Published May 30, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

Since we have been gearing up for and/or actually moving, I haven’t been able to post in almost a month! I figured I had better get in here and let you all know we’re all still here.

Bri has changed and grown in leaps and bounds! At her six month appointment she weighed in a 16 pounds 2 ounces and measured in at 26.75 inches long. Insane! My grandma used to tell us when we were kids that she was going to put a brick on our heads to keep us from growing. Can’t Bri stay little for just a little longer? 🙂

She crawls around so fast now, I can hardly keep up, and she is trying so hard to pull herself up on furniture – thank goodness she isn’t there yet! She can push herself into a sitting position from her stomach, but can’t pull herself up into a sitting position from her back yet. She loves solid foods, and her menu now consists of oat cereal, carrots, sweet potatoes, squash, apples, peaches, peas, and (by necessity, unfortunately) prunes. Next up on her list is green beans. 🙂

She just finished transitioning to formula today. She’s on the Enfamil Gentlease Formula. I wanted to keep pumping but it was becoming impractical…especially with me going back to work at a grocery store where my schedule changes constantly. I know I have the right to pump at work, but I just wasn’t comfortable with that. Besides, I feel like pumping and giving her breast milk exclusively for 6 months and getting breast milk mixed with formula almost to seven months was a pretty big accomplishment. With my next baby, I am hoping to breast feed truly, instead of giving up after three weeks. Then maybe I will make it to the year mark like I had hoped to with Bri.

With the move and everything else going on, her sleep schedule has been a bit wonky. She had been falling asleep at ten every night and sleeping until 7 or 8, but now she falls asleep at ten and wakes up every couple of hours. We are hoping her schedule smooths out again as she gets used to her new home and all the new sounds.

I am no longer a stay at home mommy, unfortunately. I do feel blessed (or lucky, or whatever you prefer) to have been able to be a SAHM for 6 1/2 months of Bri’s first year of life, but I really wish it could have been more permanent. I loved it, even when my patience with her wore thin, it was the best, because I seriously felt like its what I was supposed to be!

But finances told me otherwise, so I applied at my old job (but at a location closer to home) and was hired back. Saturday was my first day, and I cried so hard before I left for work… Even though it was only a four hour shift, it felt like the end of such a special thing. 😦

Anyway, this was supposed to be a quick update, and I am blabbering on and on!

My Internet services have not been turned on here yet, so I can’t blog properly until that happens. Hopefully it will be within a week. I can’t wait to get back into blogging regularly, or at least semi-regularly. I miss it!

20130530-001508.jpg

20130530-001522.jpg

20130530-001535.jpg

20130530-001546.jpg

20130530-001601.jpg

Leave a Reply

