Briana: Destructo Girl in Disguise

Published September 22, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

Is it possible for a baby to reach “Destructive Toddler” status before she has taken her first independent steps? If so, Briana is most definitely there!

I woke up this morning to find that David had dozed off on the couch while watching Briana. I can only assume that’s what happened, because the pile of neatly folded clothes I had left on the couch was strewn all over the floor, the diapers had all been pulled out of the Pampers bag and thrown everywhere, the Playstation controller was covered in drool, her toy bin was upside down (the contents, of course, all over the floor), and the blinds on the sliding glass door were all askew. Quite the little hurricane, my daughter is! 🙂

Setting aside her destructive tendencies (and we all know it’s really exploring and curiosity anyway), I am quite proud of my little munchkin. Her favorite phrase right now is “uh oh” and she says it all the time! With many different meanings. 🙂 “Uh oh” in a questioning tone when she purposefully drops her toy over the side of her car seat, “uh oh” in a firm tone as she knocks over her blocks, “uh oh” said in an actual “uh oh” tone when she knows she’s in trouble for pulling on the blinds or pushing the buttons on Daddy’s PS3 (this kid is GREAT at ejecting DVDs and Blu-Rays), and “uh oh” said in a tone of delight when my in-laws dog sniffs at her toes.

Her vocabulary is small, but I feel like she is really catching on to the rhythm and flow of speech. You can really tell when she is curious about something, because you can hear the questioning note in her “babbling.” And if she’s showing you something, even though it’s a string of random sounds, I swear it’s like she’s telling you about what she’s holding out in front of her. “See mom, this is what this is!” Her exclamations of excitement when she sees the dog have a definite “Look at that mom!!!” sound to them. And she definitely knows what an angry tone is. She doesn’t just immediately dissolve into tears or wailing every time she’s upset now. She screws up her face and frowns and sternly babbles at me. “Deh deh deh DA! Da da da deh deh DA!” Not every time, but sometimes. It makes me laugh.

She loves pushing buttons right now, on remotes or controllers or toys or pretty much anything. She has also discovered that doors are fascinating because they swing/move back and forth. Every time I am holding her and I walk through a doorway, I have to be careful she doesn’t jerk me up short by grabbing onto the door and holding on as tight as she can. She likes to grab the edge of the door and push it and pull it to watch it swing.

She’s eating more “real” food now, and fewer baby purees. Pasta and cheese and chicken and veggies…things that are easy for her to pick up. I got her a “My First Plate Set” at Walmart the other day. It came with a little baby safe fork and spoon. Too cute! She ate her pasta and veggies out of it last night…of course she was eating with her fingers, but she enjoyed chewing on her fork and spoon. 🙂 She has mastered the sippy cup, as well, and will drink from a regular cup if you hold it for her. I have been too afraid to try just handing her a regular cup…she likes to throw things right now, and I don’t think that handing her a grenade filled with liquid would be a good parenting decision!

Briana still isn’t quite walking on her own, but she is needing less and less help every day. The other day she was holding onto just one of my hands and she stood up and took two tiny steps. She loves walking in between David and I, holding onto each of our hands and just going as fast as her little legs can carry her. I think once she realizes she doesn’t need us for balance, we’re going to be doing a lot of running to catch up!

She has figured out how to crawl up onto the couch. I seriously watched her the other day use a stuffed toy as a stepping stool to get herself up easier. Um, excuse me? Slow down a little bit, baby, I’m not ready for this yet! She’s also discovered what fun laundry baskets and empty toy bins are…though I took the laundry basket away after she was sitting in it and it tipped over and she hit her face on the base of the lamp. I felt SO terrible…she still has a mark under her poor little nose.

I’m sure that I’m forgetting a ton of stuff and will think of it later, but this is what currently comes to mind. She is turning one soon! Can you believe it?! I can’t. I’ve been thinking a lot about the day she was born in the last few days. When they took her and put her on my chest that first time, how happy and overwhelmed with love I was. And I look at her now and how much she has grown and changed and…it’s just incredible!

Just a heads up, when she turns one, I’m starting a new blog. I’ve already come up with a name for it and reserved the url, aren’t you proud of me? I used it as a blog title a while back and just really loved it! “Mommyhood in Motion.” What do you think? I haven’t posted anything there yet, but the url is http://mommyhoodinmotion.wordpress.com/ and I plan on starting to blog there instead of here ON her birthday. I am hoping everyone follows me over there! I explained before, but just in case you missed it, I feel like my “new mommy” days are kind of coming to an end. And also, we plan on having more kids…so blogging under the url “brianasmommy.wordpress.com” wouldn’t really work out once that happened! You should all go follow the blog now! That way you won’t miss anything when I do the switch in November. 🙂 Hope to see you over there, too!

Still a New Mommy for a Little While Longer

20130922-132254.jpg

20130922-132311.jpg

20130922-132323.jpg

20130922-132349.jpg

20130922-132357.jpg

20130922-132409.jpg

Leave a Reply

