Feeling Nostalgic

Published October 9, 2013 by jessicalynndunning

My little baby girl is growing up so fast. I was standing at work today, and I remembered this time last year, when I was so close to my due date. I was so certain I would have her early, even though everyone kept telling me that she would be late because she was my first. I had hit that point midway through October when I was just DONE being pregnant, and I couldn’t wait to have her in my arms instead of kicking me in the ribs. Everyone kept telling me to cherish every moment she was still inside my body, protected from the world, nourished and warm and safe, but all I wanted was to meet her and see her eyes and toes and fingers, to kiss her head and hold her close and tell her that I loved her more than anything in the whole world.

I got all teary eyed at work.

I miss having her with me everywhere I go. I mean, I used to take her to work with me every day, right? It doesn’t matter that she was in my uterus, does it? πŸ™‚

And then she was born, and I was just in awe of this cute little pink creature with her wide blue eyes staring around at the world. But the world suddenly seemed like a scary place to me…germs and sharp edges and choke-sized objects, and chemical cleaners that could be accidentally ingested. I suddenly understood what everyone had been saying before.

Anyway. I know I’ll have that feeling again next time we have a baby, and this time I’ll take the time to cherish it the way that I should have up until the very last day of my pregnancy with Briana.

Speaking of Briana…

 

My little girl has PERSONALITY. And sometimes ATTITUDE.

I reached out to take a piece of her chicken to nibble on during her lunch today, and she smacked my hand and glared at me. No joke. I had to bite my lip to keep from laughing. And yesterday, she was playing with something and I tried to take it away, and she lay down on her back, wrapped her hands and feet around it (a bottle of lotion) and yelled when I tried to take it. It’s so funny how she goes from so sweet and laughing one second to super tired and grumpy and attitude filled the next. I thought mood swings were for teenagers? πŸ™‚

Anyway, for the most part she is still my sweet little smiley child, but there are just a couple of moments every day where I get a glimpse of her daddy’s stubborn streak and my determination all mixed into one, and only one thought crosses my mind: “Uh oh.” Or sometimes “We’re in for it…”

 

We’re finally getting her settled back into a semi-regular routine now at grandma and grandpa’s house, excepting the fact that she is still waking up in the middle of the night sometimes. She now has a semi-regular wake time, nap time, feeding time, play time schedule. It’s easier to stick to it here for some reason.

Her aunt Sarah bought her one of those Playskool Elephant things that blows multi-colored balls out of its trunk and catches them in its ears so that it can blow them out again. (I tried to post a picture but had trouble. Here’s a link to Wal-Marts website… http://www.walmart.com/ip/16829720?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=3&adid=22222222227009551124&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=13955890630&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=34874126350&veh=sem )

Bri has been having SO much fun with that thing. She’s figured out how to turn it on by herself, and she loves watching it and picking up the balls that fall on the ground and putting them back in the ears…I’ll admit that mom has been having fun playing with it too…Errr….playing with Briana while SHE plays with it. Sure, that’s what I mean. πŸ˜€

 

Anyway. I meant to do this long in-depth blog about Briana, but I’m falling asleep at my keyboard! Some day I’ll have more energy or remember to blog BEFORE work. I’ll try again later this week.

Love from a Tired New Mommy

Leave a Reply

